The Joy of Box Sets

I have never been one to religiously follow the latest TV series. I mean, I do have my favourites, but I didn’t watch Friends when it was first out, I kept missing the return of Doctor Who and I have never seen Glee or Ugly Betty. It used to be that I was doing other things, like school work or meeting friends. And when I was in primary school I never stayed up past 10 and watched the programmes everybody else seemed to. And until recently this seemed to be normal. But then I discovered the world of channels like Comedy Central. And Mock the Week.

Last year I got the complete Friends box set. And the complete Scrubs box set. And Torchwood Series 1. Now maybe I am making up for lost time, but whenever I get free days, like in the holidays, I seem to spend all day on the sofa watching endless episodes of something or other. I mean it’s not like I am completely inactive, but even if I have something else to be doing (namely art coursework), I just ignore it and stick on a DVD. So since Christmas 2008, pretty much every other Sunday for a few months at a time, I would just watch Friends all day. It took me almost a year to finish the whole 10 series as I stopped watching them for a time, but I spent many a Sunday doing absolutely nothing except watching Friends.

The problem with this is, once I have started I cannot stop. I now feel like I can buy any box set I want and just find the time to watch it at some point. In the last week, for example, I have begun to watch my Scrubs series 1-7 box set. Now I have only watched 2 of the 20 discs, yet it has taken me about 8 hours (16x30mins), which is a considerable chunk of time spent doing nothing.

I am not going to have a rant about health or anything here, or finish on a bitter note about TVs and DVDs. I am just amazed that there are so many programmes to keep up with, and it seems like I will never reach the end, yet I will keep branching out into new and unseen box sets for the foreseeable future. I hope this inspires some of you to explore the world of procrastination too!

2 Comments to “The Joy of Box Sets”

  1. All episodes of Scrubs are live over at http://www.squidoo.com/scrubsepisodes for free if you wanna watch it online.

Leave a comment