The Tragedy of an Oxymoron

I am a shy attention seeker. This is something I have come to realise recently and wish to do something about. But first, the background:

I have always been the quiet one. The one who stands in corners, doesn’t raise his hand. The introvert. When I was younger I used to say ‘mm’ and ‘mhm’ instead of yes and no; I would mumble words in the presence of adults. I grew out of that, but never quite got over the fear of speaking to strangers. I still get nervous when asking for things in shops and am infamous for not answering the phone. I guess some of this is a little unusual, but I             manage to get by in the world despite my differences. Except that this is not enough for me anymore.

I have also always been quite talented: I was the arty one, the musical one, the clever one. At an early age I enjoyed this and spent many hours doing extra things for which I was praised. But the older I got, the less special I became. Others surpassed me in and out of the classroom; I became lazier. Eventually I pretty much gave up trying to advance in the arts, resigned to my fate as a jack of all trades. I stuck with the education for mainly legal obligations. But the spirit never died in me.

More recently, I have been feeling particularly creative inside. I have had many ideas and even some forms of inspiration. Despite this, I have as of yet failed to create. My fruits did not flower or flourish; my wishful works wilted. I seem unable to substantiate my creative energies in any form other than mere thoughts. Doubt I did not, however, as I know the power of a metaphorical seed sewn in the minds of others. Words are my weapon.

Which brings us back to the present in the chronology of my narration. The here and now. The what and why, and the how. I want to put myself across, I want to share my thoughts with others and have feelings and beliefs reciprocated. But I am too shy. I am not willing to draw the necessary attention of others in the right form. So I hide behind words on a screen, hoping they might one day catch the eye of somebody willing to break that barrier and let me out of my bubble into the real world.

3 Comments to “The Tragedy of an Oxymoron”

  1. Challenge: hug a random person at college tomorrow.

    BOOM shyness ended.

  2. Your use of language has always been a strength – even when only hmming you still got our attention!
    There is a lot of writing out there – and at some point you will have to take the plunge and get yours out there if you do indeed want the attention you mention in your blog.
    Whilst you have always been ‘the quiet one’ – you have not been ‘the invisible one’. There is a big difference between being quiet and being invisible. You have never been the latter.
    My view is that you should work to develop your writing style.. I wonder if there’s any value in looking at the broadsheets and their magazines for a trawl of writing styles that sell. This might link with your previous aim of being a millionaire!
    Hope to see you before too long… M

  3. omygosh sam you sound just like me xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a comment